The Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee exists to offer an important voice and a perspective from minority individuals within ACPA’s membership, to the Board of Directors. The committee focuses on increasing representation from a diverse range of ethnicities, races, genders, sexual orientations, international providers, and other populations, as well as between practice disciplines, so that ACPA exudes a welcoming environment for all. The committee will ensure that DEI is included in all structures of ACPA, including board and committee levels, as well as a focus on solutions in disparities in care for our patient populations.

2022 Key Objectives:

  1. Conduct outreach to groups and organizations not traditionally found in cleft care to increase diversity of membership
  2. Increase international collaboration and inclusiveness
  3. Create a dedicated space in the online community for the committee, for safe discussion
  4. Create an outreach method which is deliberate in seeking a more diverse group for future leadership and committee roles
  5. Ensure ACPA materials are representative of diverse patients/providers, and are accessible in terms of language/communication
  6. Create a more welcoming and respectful environment for everyone involved with ACPA
  7. Create and provide a toolkit for providers (cultural competence) so vulnerable patients have increased positive patient outcomes
  8. Create educational opportunities (study sessions), at events or online, to share experiences with attendees/community

2022 Committee Members:

  • Geisel Collazo-Garcia, MD, Chicago, IL (Chair)
  • Claudia Crilly Bellucci, MS, Chicago, IL
  • Catherine J. Crowley, PhD, JD, CCC-SLP, New York, NY
  • Omri Emodi, DMD, MD, Haifa, Israel
  • Emad Ghabrial, BchD, MchD, HDD, PGD, Pretoria, South Africa
  • Lord J. Gowans, Kumasi, Ghana
  • Khurram A. Khan, BDS, DMD, Cincinnati, OH
  • Nicole M. Kurnik, MD, Phoenix, AZ
  • Gayatri Moghe, MDS, MSc, PDCR, Hyderabad, India
  • Ellen E. Ortega-Moore, MA, CCC-SLP, Houston, TX
  • Yassmin Parsaei, DMD, MDS, New York, NY
  • Darin Patmon, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Phayvanh Pecha, Charleston, SC
  • Melisande J. Ploutz, CPNP, CLC, Rochester, NY
  • Fatima Qamar, MD, MPH, Houston, TX
  • Scott Tye, MS, Atlanta, GA
  • Raquel M. Ulma, MD, DDS, Cincinnati, OH
  • Dillan Villavisanis, BA, Philadelphia, PA
  • LaQuia A. Vinson, DDS, MPH, Indianapolis, IN
  • Jennifer C. West, PhD, Rochester, NY
  • Natalie R. Wombacher, MS, Tempe, AZ
  • Kelly Nett Cordero, PhD, CCC-SLP, Phoenix, AZ (Board Liaison)