The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) created the Commission on Approval of Teams to manage an approval process which facilitates the improvement of team care and ensures that accurate information can be provided by ACPA to patients and families/caregivers regarding services provided by teams that meet the Standards for Approval of Cleft Palate and Craniofacial Teams. The Commission is responsible for maintaining the Standards for Approval, evaluating teams that voluntarily apply for approval, recognizing and upholding ACPA Approved Teams, and maintaining a list of ACPA Approved Teams.

The Commission makes decisions regarding Team Approval independently, following the procedures outlined in the ACPA Team Approval Procedures Manual. Members of the Commission on Approval of Teams are not eligible to serve on the ACPA Board of Directors or Nominating Committee during their term. The Commission operates under supervision of the Board. See more about the Commission on Approval of Teams.

2021-2022 Commission Members:

    • Martha S. Matthews, MD, Moorestown, NJ (Chair)
      Surgery Representative
    • Kirt E. Simmons, DDS, PhD, Little Rock, AR (Chair-Elect)
      Orthodontics Representative
    • Michael Dehal, Toronto, ON
      Public Member – Family Member/Affected Individual
    • Christopher M. Discolo, MD, Indianapolis, IN
      Other Medical Professional Representative
    • Noopur Gangopadhyay, MD, Chicago, IL
      Craniofacial Member Representative
    • Kelly Hubka, RN, BSN, MBA, CPHQ, CCCTM, Leavenworth, KS
      Public Member – Accreditation
    • Alexis L. Johns, PhD, ABPP, Los Angeles, CA
      Psychology/Social Work Representative
    • Danielle Silva, Stony Brook, NY
      Team Coordinator Representative
    • Anna Thurmes Barigayomwe, PhD, MA, CCC-SLP, Minneapolis, MN
      Speech Representative
    • Deji V. Fashemo, DDS, MPH, Dallas, TX
      Board Liaison