ACPA Announces 2018 Board of Directors

Alyssa KirkmanACPA Leadership, ACPA News

Chapel Hill, NC – November 17, 2017 – The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) is pleased to announce the results of the election for the 2018 Board of Directors.

“This has been a year of transition for ACPA.  I am honored to have served as president through the merger with the Cleft Palate Foundation and I am excited to continue to move toward a better future for ACPA, our members, and the patients and families we serve,” said Robert J. Havlik, MD, 2017 ACPA president. “On behalf of the ACPA Board of Directors, I would like to thank Ana M. Mercado and Richard E. Kirschner who will complete their terms on the Board of Directors in December.”

The newly elected representatives will begin their terms on January 1, 2018. The elected ACPA Officers and Board Members are:

  • President-Elect: Bernard J. Costello, DMD, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Vice President-Elect: Lynn M. Fox, MA, MEd, CCC-SLP, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Board Member: John A. van Aalst, MD, Cincinnati, OH
  • Board Member: Snehlata Oberoi, BDS, MDS, DDS, San Francisco, CA

“I am looking forward to serving as president of ACPA in 2018, continuing to work with current board members and engaging with our newly elected members,” said Amelia F. Drake, MD. “We are a stronger organization post-merger and are exploring ways to benefit both our members and those outside the medical profession who are interested in issues related to cleft and craniofacial conditions.”

The ACPA Board of Directors also consists of the following ACPA Officers and Board Members:

  • President: Amelia F. Drake, MD, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Vice President: Patricia A. Beals, DMD, MS, Phoenix, AZ
  • Communications Officer: Carrie L. Heike, MD, MS, Seattle, WA
  • Treasurer: John A. Girotto, MD, MMA, FAAP, FACS, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Past President: Robert J. Havlik, MD, Milwaukee, WI
  • Board Member: Patricia Chibbaro, RN, MS, CPNP, New York, NY
  • Board Member: Scott A. Dailey, BS, MA, PhD, CCC-SLP, Iowa City, IA
  • Board Member: Oksana Jackson, MD, Wynnewood, PA
  • Board Member: Kristina Wilson, PhD, CCC-SLP, Houston, TX
  • Ex-Officio: Michael T. Friel, MD, FACS, FAAP, Jefferson, LA
  • Ex-Officio: Yvonne R. Gutierrez, MD, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ex-Officio: Wendy-Jo Toyama, MBA, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Ex-Officio: Jack Yu, MD, DMD, MS Ed, Augusta, GA

For more information on ACPA and the Board of Directors, please visit:

About the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association
The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) association of interested individuals and health care professionals who treat and/or perform research on oral cleft and craniofacial conditions. Since 1943, ACPA has worked to optimize outcomes for individuals with oral cleft and craniofacial conditions through education, support, research, advocacy and interdisciplinary team care. ACPA also provides information to affected individuals and families and seeks to educate the public about facial differences through its ACPA Family Services program. For more information, please visit