The Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Journal 2017 Award Winners

Alyssa KirkmanACPA News, Awards, Journal

Chapel Hill, NC – The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) and the Cleft Palate Foundation (CPF) are pleased to announce the 2017 winners of The Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Journal (CPCJ) awards. The winners were recognized on March 17, 2017 during ACPA’s 74th Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

CPCJ is a bi-monthly international journal on craniofacial differences that publishes research on etiology, prevention, diagnosis and treatment in all areas of craniofacial anomalies. CPCJ is the official publication of ACPA.

Adriane Baylis, PhD, CCC-SLP was awarded CPCJ’s 2017 Peer Reviewer of the Year Award. The award is given annually to the peer reviewer who best exemplifies the core values and missions of the journal.

Dr. Baylis is the Director of the Velopharyngeal Dysfunction Program and Co-Director of the 22q Center at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio. She is also Clinical Assistant Professor for the Department of Plastic Surgery at The Ohio State University. She received her MA and PhD in Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences at the University of Minnesota with an emphasis in craniofacial anomalies. Dr. Baylis serves as chair of ACPA’s 22q11.2 Related Disorders SIG and is a member of ACPA’s Education Committee and Task Force on Americleft – Speech Group.

Christos Katsaros, DDS, Dr med dent, Odont Dr/PhD was awarded CPCJ’s 2017 Stewart Rood Section Editor of the Year Award. This is the second consecutive year that Dr. Katsaros has received this award. The award is given annually in recognition of a section editor’s significant and substantive contributions to the journal.

Dr. Katsaros has served as a section editor since 2008. He is Professor and Chair at the Department of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, University of Bern, Switzerland. He received his dental degree from the University of Thessaloniki, Greece and his orthodontic training at the University of Saarland, Germany, where he also completed a doctoral degree (Dr med dent) and his “Habilitation” (equivalent to PhD). In addition, Dr. Katsaros was a researcher at the Göteborg University, Sweden, where he completed an Odont Dr/PhD. From 2000 to 2002 he served as an Associate Professor and from 2002 to 2008 as a Professor of Orthodontics at the Department of Orthodontics and Oral Biology, Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre, Nijmegen, The Netherlands. He served as the President of the European Orthodontic Society for the term 2016/17.

CPF awarded Kathleen Russell, DDS, MSc the 2017 Samuel Berkowitz, DDS, MS Long-Term Outcomes Study Award. Dr. Russell was honored for her manuscript titled, “A Multicenter Study Using the SWAG Scale to Compare Secondary Alveolar Bone Graft Outcomes for Patients with Cleft Lip and Palate.” The award is given annually to the primary author of the article judged to be the best long-term outcomes study published in CPCJ. The author may be from any discipline represented in the ACPA, and the article may cover any cleft or craniofacial subject area.

Dr. Russell is a tenured, full professor in the Faculty of Dentistry with a cross-appointment to the School of Biomedical Engineering and Graduate Studies at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. She is also Chair of the IWK Cleft Palate Team in Halifax. Dr. Russell received her BSc in Chemistry and a Doctor Dental Surgery degree at Dalhousie University in Halifax. She later completed a one-year residency in pediatric dentistry at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto. She continued her education and received her specialty Diploma in Orthodontics and her MSc degree at the University of Toronto, with a concentration on cleft lip, cleft palate and craniofacial anomalies. Dr. Russell continues her research as a member of ACPA’s Task Force on Americleft.

Jack Yu, DMD, MD, MS Ed, Editor, said, “Thank you to the 2017 award winners, who contribute towards the goal of The Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Journal publishing the highest quality scientific information on oral cleft and other craniofacial conditions.”

CPCJ draws from around the world for its interdisciplinary approach to growth, development, diagnosis, and treatment in all areas pertaining to craniofacial differences. In addition, it explores and reports on the study and treatment, including experimental and proven surgical procedures, of cleft lip, cleft palate and craniofacial anomalies. For more information, please visit


About the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association
The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) is an international non-profit medical society of health care professionals who treat and/or perform research on oral cleft and craniofacial conditions. The members of ACPA serve an extremely important role in the treatment of children and adults with cleft lip, cleft palate, and craniofacial anomalies. Established in 1943, its goal has been to provide optimal care for this group of patients and their families. Because of the diverse needs of these patients, and the required services of many different specialists, interdisciplinary cooperation and team care is essential to the patients served. For more information please visit

About the Cleft Palate Foundation
The mission of the Cleft Palate Foundation (CPF) is to serve individuals and families affected by cleft lip/palate and other craniofacial conditions by connecting them to team care, providing education, and offering personal support. CPF is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization founded in 1973 to be the public service arm of the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association. For more information, visit or call 919-933-9044.