ACPA Announces 2017 Board of Directors


Chapel Hill, NC – September 19, 2016 – The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) is pleased to announce the results of the election for the 2017 Board of Directors.

“It is a period of growth for ACPA. I am honored to serve as president of the ACPA Board of Directors and have the opportunity to work in partnership with esteemed colleagues from throughout the profession,” said Richard Kirschner, MD, 2016 ACPA president. “On behalf of ACPA, I would like to thank Lisa David, MD, of Winston-Salem, NC and Iris Sageser, RDH, MS, of Cincinnati, OH who will complete their terms on the Board of Directors in December 2016.  I would also like to thank all of this year’s candidates.”

The ACPA elected representatives will begin their terms on January 1, 2017. The elected members are:

  • President-Elect: Amelia Drake, MD, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Vice President-Elect: Patricia Glick, DMD, MS, Phoenix, AZ
  • Treasurer: John A. Girotto, MD, MMA, FAAP, FACS, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Board Position #1: Oksana Jackson, MD, Wynnewood, PA
  • Board Position #2: Patricia Chibbaro, RN, MS, CPNP, New York, NY

The Board is also comprised of elected members who will move into their new roles on January 1, 2017:

  • President: Robert Havlik, MD, Milwaukee, WI
  • Past President: Richard Kirschner, MD, Columbus, OH
  • Vice President: Bernard J. Costello, DMD, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA

“I am excited to serve as the president of the ACPA Board of Directors in 2017,” said Bob Havlik, MD.  “This is a fantastic organization purely dedicated to the care of children with cleft lip and palate and other congenital facial differences.  I look forward to working with the current and new board members as we work to support the ACPA Strategic Plan.”

The ACPA Board of Directors also consists of the following members:

  • Communications Officer: Carrie L. Heike, MD, MS, Seattle, WA
  • Board Member: Ana M. Mercado, DMD, MS, PhD, Westerville, OH
  • Board Member: Lynn M. Fox, MA, MEd, CCC-SLP, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Board Member: Scott A. Dailey, BS, MA, PhD, CCC-SLP, Iowa City, IA
  • Board Member: Kristina Wilson, PhD, CCC-SLP, Houston, TX
  • Ex-Officio: Jack Yu, MD, DMD, MS Ed, Augusta, GA, Journal Editor
  • Ex-Officio: Marilyn Cohen, LSLP, Moorestown, NJ, CPF President
  • Ex-Officio: Wendy-Jo Toyama, MBA, Chapel Hill, NC, ACPA and CPF Executive Director

For more information on ACPA and the Board of Directors, please visit:

About the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association
The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) is an international non-profit medical association of interdisciplinary health care professionals who treat and/or perform research on oral cleft and craniofacial conditions. ACPA supports the professional community and enhances the quality of team care by providing education and resources, supporting and disseminating research, and acting as an open forum for specialists to communicate. More information about ACPA can be found at or by calling 919-933-9044.